• Josie Foo
  • Susan Wood
  • Margaret Holley
  • Deb Burnham
  • Fleda Brown Jackson
  • A.V. Christie
  • Jeanne Murray Walker
  • David Moolten
  • Paul Muldoon

  • The 1998-99 Laughing Hermit
    Reading and Poetry Series

    To be held at the Kelly Writers House,
    3805 Locust Walk on Penn's campus in West Philadelphia.
    All readings begin at 2pm except for the October 10th reading
    which starts at 1pm
    >> click here for Laughing Hermit 1999-2000
    >> click here for Laughing Hermit 2000-2001
    >> click here for Laughing Hermit 2001-2002
    September 26, 1998: Josie Foo
    Josie Foo was born and raised in Malaysia and currently lives in Philadelphia. She is the author of Endou: Poems, Prose and A Little Beagle Story (Lost Roads Press, 1995). Her new manuscript, Literal Mountain, was named as a finalist in the 1998 Yale Series of Younger Poets competition. She won the Eve of St. Agnes Award in 1994. She graduated from Vassar College and Brown University. Her work has appeared in numerous journals and an anthology of new Asian writers titled Premonitions (Kaya Press, 1995).

    October 10, 1998: Susan Wood
    (reading begins at 1pm)
    Susan Wood was born in Northeast Texas and is Associate Professor of English, Rice University, Houston. She is the author of two books of poetry, Bazaar (1981), and Campo Santo (1991). Campo Santo won the 1991 Lamont Poetry prize. Her work has appeared in many journals. In 1998 she was awarded a Guggenheim fellowship and she was also named as one of the Senior Writers at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts.

    November 14, 1998: Margaret Holly
    Margaret Holley is the author of several collections of poetry, including Smoke Trees (1991), which won the Blue Stem Award, Morning Glory (Copper Beech Press) and Kore in Bloom (Copper Beach Press). She was born in Detroit, Michigan and was educated at Wellesley and Bryn Mawr colleges. She is currently the Director of the Creative Writing Program at Bryn Mawr.

    December 12, 1998: Deb Burnham
    Deb Burnham was born in Ohio and currently works at the University of Pennsylvania. Her first collection Anna and the Steel Mill (Texas Tech University Press, 1995) won the first book award of the press. She chairs the summer writing program at the Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Arts. Her work has appeared in several journals and she has received a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

    January 23, 1999: Fleda Brown Jackson
    Fleda Brown Jackson reads from her new collection The Devil's Child. She is the author of two previous books, Fishing with Blood (1988), and Do Not Peel the Birches (1998). She has won the Great Lakes Colleges Association New Writers Award and the Verna Emery Prize. She currently teaches at the University of Delaware.

    February 20, 1999: A.V Christie
    A.V. Christie was one of five poets named for the 1996 National Poetry Series for her first collection Nine Skies. Most recently she was writer-in-residence at Villanova University for the 1997-98 academic year. [
    Writing Sample]

    March 20, 1999: Jeanne Murray Walker
    Jeanne Murray Walker was a 1998 Pew Fellow for poetry. Her fourth book Gaining Time was published in the spring of 1998. She currently teaches Creative Writing at the University of Delaware.

    April 17, 1999: David Moolten
    David Moolten won the 1994 Morse Poetry Prize for his first collection Plums & Ashes. He has received numerous grants and fellowships including a Pennsylvania Council of the Arts fellowship for literature. His work has appeared in several journals.

    May 8, 1999: Paul Muldoon
    Paul Muldoon is regarded as one of Ireland's finest poets. He is the author of six collections of poetry and a screenplay. He has also translated work of poets writing in the Irish language. He currently teaches at Princeton University.