Journalistic Writing Minor

Students who wish to minor in Journalistic Writing should contact the Director of the Creative Writing Program, Dr. Julia Bloch, at the Center for Programs in Contemporary Writing at 3808 Walnut St. (215-573-CPCW).

The minor in Journalistic Writing consists of six courses. Of these,

For a sampling of Creative Writing workshops currently offered, click here.

Creative Writing has had a long tradition at Penn. The Creative Writing faculty (standing, adjunct, visiting) has included some of the most important writers of our time including those who have been brilliant nonfiction writers and documentarians, among them John Wideman, Nora Magid, Paul Fussell, Jerre Mangione, and Loren Eisley.

The current faculty members who teach journalistic and nonfiction writing include Max Apple (nonfiction writing), Lorene Cary (nonfiction), Anthony DeCurtis (popular culture reviewing and feature writing), Lise Funderburg (nonfiction), Paul Hendrickson (nonfiction), Marion Kant (travel writing), Rick Nichols (journalism), Dick Polman (journalism), Robert Strauss (journalism), Peter Tarr (science writing), and Kitsi Watterson (nonfiction).

The emergence of a lively culture of writers at Penn in recent years, with the advent of the Kelly Writers House in 1995-96, has put contemporary writing, including journalistic writing, in the foreground among Penn students. The Kelly Writers House Fellows seminar, an advanced undergraduate seminar in English, features three super-eminent writers each spring. This is just one of many collaborations between and among the Writers House, the English department's undergraduate literature major, and the Creative Writing Program. The founding of the Center for Programs in Contemporary Writing, a site for further collaboration among all of Penn's writing programs, makes a new minor in Journalistic Writing even more attractive.